Saturday, December 15, 2012

Nation Women's Soccer League - NWSL - Launches Name and Logo

Women's soccer in North America has re-branded and re-structured.  The eight-team league will begin play in Spring of 2013 and will be governed by US Soccer.

The eight teams in the league are: Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, FC Kansas City, Portland Thorns FC, Sky Blue FC, Washington Spirit, Western New York Flash and Seattle, which has yet to announce its team name.

The US Soccer federation will be paying the salaries of 24 players while the Mexican and Canadian soccer federations will do the same for up to 16 players.*

These developments are exciting for fans of women's soccer in each of the eight cities selected and will also be a foundation of development for talent in each of the three national federations.

I hope the turnout is good for all of these teams, because it seems the third time may be a charm and this league might work.